In the Blog

Celebrating Contemporary Global Indigenous Culture: Planet IndigenUS

August 10th, 2012     by Julia Horel     Comments

Celebrating Contemporary Global Indigenous Culture Planet IndigenUS co-produced by Woodland Cultural Centre kicks off this Friday! Aug. 10-19, 2012

WHAT: Planet IndigenUS co-produced by Woodland Cultural Centre The biggest festival in the world of its kind: A ten-day celebration of cutting-edge, contemporary Indigenous culture from around the world.

WHERE: Harbourfront Centre, 235 Queens Quay West, Toronto; Woodland Cultural Centre, 184 Mohawk Street, Brantford; and partners across the GTA Buses will be running between Harbourfront Centre, Woodland Cultural Centre and partner sites around the GTA each festival weekend.

WHEN: Friday, Aug. 10-Sunday, Aug. 19, 2012 Fri Aug 10: 8 p.m.-1 a.m., Sat Aug 11: noon-1 a.m., Sun Aug 12 noon-8 p.m. Fri Aug 17: 7 p.m.-1 a.m., Sat Aug 18 noon-1 a.m., Sun Aug 19 noon-6:30 p.m.

WHAT, EXACTLY: . Planet IndigenUS kicks off with the Opening Spectacle, a multidisciplinary extravaganza hosted by Wab Kinew and Sarah Podemski and featuring a range of performers from around the world; . Music, dance, theatre, visual art and more from hundreds of artists hailing from across Canada, the US, China, Japan, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand and Norway; . Don’t miss Shared Perspectives - An Evening of Reconciliation, featuring keynote addresses from Reverend Jesse Jackson and the Honourable Justice Murray Sinclair as well as performances and an authors’ dialogue on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Members of the media interested in attending the festival’s opening reception, being held on Friday, Aug. 10 at 7 p.m., should contact Jon Campbell by Thursday, Aug. 9 at 5 p.m.

For more information the public may call 416-973-4000 or visit

Tags: event listings, indigenous


Guest post: The psychological is political: Mental health as a feminist issue »